Skip To Main Content

Drew Holtmann selected for Grosvenor Teacher Fellowship

Drew Holtmann selected for Grosvenor Teacher Fellowship
  • Burt Street News
Hannah Miller

Official Press Release

Duchesne Academy's Drew Holtmann will embark on a new adventure around the world as part of the Grosvenor Teacher Fellowship cohort. The Theology teacher is one of 35 educators chosen. This fellowship program is cosponsored by Lindblad Expeditions and National Geographic.

Destinations for the cohort include Antarctica, the GalápagosPatagoniaAlaska, the Arctic and beyond—on board Lindblad Expeditions-National Geographic’s state-of-the-art expedition vessels to enhance their geographic knowledge with interactive, field-based experiences they will bring back to their classrooms, communities and professional networks.

"Drew Holtmann manifests Goal 2 of the Sacred Heart, 'deep respect for intellectual values'," Duchesne Principal Dr. Laura Hickman said. "He is committed to the joy of life-long learning and teaches by example."

Consisting of educators from 20 U.S. states and two Canadian provinces, the cohort features a diverse group of formal and informal educators, including the program’s first-ever teacher of the Deaf. The group also represents an array of grade levels and subject areas, from STEM programs to environmental science, geography, music, world religion and more.

“Welcoming our 16th cohort of Grosvenor Teacher Fellows is a profound honor for us. This extraordinary expedition experience will provide these exceptional educators with invaluable insights into the intricacies of the world's most diverse ecosystems,” said Amy Berquist, Vice President of Conservation, Education and Sustainability, Lindblad Expeditions. “Through their respective explorations, we hope they gain an even more enriched understanding of the world around them to ignite a passion for environmental stewardship in countless students for years to come, shaping the future of our planet."

The 2024 Grosvenor Teacher Fellows are (in alphabetical order):

  • Amy Sampson, Monett R-1 School District, Monett, Missouri
  • Aziz Zahraoui, Portsmouth Public Schools, Portsmouth, Virginia
  • Bree Oatman, Lower Brule High School, Lower Brule, South Dakota
  • Brian Black, Crawford High School, San Diego Unified School District, San Diego, California
  • Debra Freitag, Monticello Middle School, Monticello, Wisconsin
  • Dominique Evans-Bye, Glendale Unified School District, La Crescenta, California
  • Drew Holtmann, Duchesne Academy of the Sacred Heart, Omaha, Nebraska
  • Erin Smith, Berkeley High School, Berkeley, California
  • Genée Ciurus Major, Springman Middle School, Glenview, Illinois
  • Heidi Givens, Livermore Elementary School, Livermore, Kentucky
  • Jacqueline Omania, Oxford Elementary, Berkeley Unified School District, Berkeley, California
  • Jennifer Jacklin-Stratton, Partnership for Appalachian Girls' Education, Marshall, North Carolina
  • Jennifer Hartigan, Lincoln Middle School, Alameda Unified School District, Alameda, California
  • Jessica Culver, Ozark School District, Ozark, Arkansas
  • Joanna Thompson-Anselm, Milliken Mills High School, Markham, Ontario, Canada
  • Jodi Resch Brownell, School District of Crandon, Crandon, Wisconsin
  • John Worrell, Royal Oak School District, Royal Oak, Michigan
  • Kaitlin Biagiotti, Garden City School District, Garden City, New York
  • Kimberly Broman, Cloquet School District, Cloquet, Minnesota
  • Kirsten Salonga, Justice High School, Fairfax County Public School District, Falls Church, Virginia
  • Lisa Werner, St. Bruno Parish School, Dousman, Wisconsin
  • Maile Chow, Kamehameha Schools, Kapālama Campus, Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Mary Patton, Waltham High School, Waltham, Massachusetts
  • Nathalie Roy, Glasgow Middle School, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • Rebecca Maynard, Framingham High School, Framingham, Massachusetts
  • Sabina Sully, Baltimore City Public Schools, Baltimore, Maryland
  • Sabrina Shaw, Monroe School District, Sky Valley Education Center, Monroe, Washington
  • Samantha Ur, Four Winds Public School, Morinville, Alberta, Canada
  • Soleil Sabalja, East Side Community High School, New York, New York
  • Susan Harter, Waterside Children's Studio School, Rockaway Park, New York
  • Taylor Ohlstrom, Lakeside High School, Atlanta, Georgia
  • Tiffany Pace, Cross Lanes Elementary, Charleston, West Virginia
  • Tyler Dixon, West Ridge School, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • Vickie Morgado, St. Philip Catholic Elementary School, Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
  • Zachary Sawhill, Oak Harbor High School, Oak Harbor, Washington

Since 2006, 400 total educators have been selected to join the Grosvenor Teacher Fellowship and offered the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to embark on an educational expedition named in honor of Gilbert M. Grosvenor, chairman emeritus of the National Geographic Society, in recognition of his decades-long work supporting pre-K–12 teachers and promoting geographic education across the United States and Canada. The expeditions were donated in perpetuity to the Society by Lindblad Expeditions’ Founder and CEO Sven-Olof Lindblad in 2006 to mark Grosvenor’s 75th birthday and honor his service to the enhancement and advancement of geographic education.

The Fellowship is open to pre-K–12 educators, who apply and are selected through a competitive application process. Fellows take on a two-year commitment to support National Geographic’s education initiatives and—in addition to being hosted aboard the Lindblad Expeditions-National Geographic fleet for a life-changing field-based experience—may be asked to conduct webinars, co-design resources, participate in meetups and serve as mentors to other educators.


About Lindblad Expeditions

Lindblad Expeditions is a pioneer and global leader in journeys of deep discovery, providing immersive and authentic ship expeditions to the world's most remarkable destinations. Lindblad offers 100% carbon neutral trips that highlight nature, preserve culture and support local communities and artisans. In partnership with National Geographic, Lindblad delivers unmatched expertise, bringing together leading scientists, naturalists and researchers to inspire travelers, highlighting moments that elevate the soul, fostering a lifelong passion for the planet and its people. For more information, visit, or find us on FacebookInstagramYouTubePinterest and LinkedIn.


If you are a member of the media with an inquiry or interview request, please call during regular business hours or email

(202) 857 7027


Manager, PR & Media Relations


Lindblad Expeditions

  • Awards
  • faculty